Friday, June 13, 2014

Four Years Later....

Wow...well ummm the time gap between posts is embarrassing lol. It has been a SUPER busy 4 years apparently. For starters there's been another little person added since my LAST post, haha! Many life changes, ups and downs, rough and good and a whole lotta "stuff" in between! There are plenty more changes to come in my life shortly too. One is my determination to start blogging more. There is just TOO much crammed inside this head of mine I have GOT to vent it out somehow. Writing seems to help with that release...the crafty stuff...well I will just have to build it out, LITERALLY. (Gonna start blogging and posting more of my DIY and other crafty doo-dads more often too). Anyhoo...just wanted to get myself BACK in the posting and blogging mode and just put this up to get me going ;) More to come. 

I've got BIG plans, BIGGER vision and HUGE Faith that God is gonna pull 
all this "stuff" in my head out and for many uses ;) 

Friday, March 26, 2010

Walking Again...

Well, April is quickly approaching and that means one thing...
Last year was my first time ever participating in the March for Babies walk. It has a special meaning for me. The walk date ironically falls on the weekend of Jake's passing. So I have chosen each year to CELEBRATE his life and walk in his memory. There are SO many other little ones out there in need. The March of Dimes is such a great organization. All my family and friends joined and we had a great time! We are excited to be making the walk again. Although, this time, I'll be nearly 7 1/2 months pregnant so I may be a tad slower on my finish line time, lol.

To help our team reach it's goal please go to http://www.marchforbabies.org You can search for me by name, "Kellie Boda" or locate "Team J.K.O." @http://www.marchforbabies.org/s_team_page.asp?SeId=1333107

Wondering what "Team J.K.O." stands for? "Jake's Knock Out!" Keeping with his fighting them, we thought it was fitting. I look forward to walking each and every year. Thank you to any all donations. Every penny counts. So please help us out :) Thanks!

Here's a few pictures from the 2009 walk :)


Team J.K.O. 2009




Tyson was just 2 months old but made the walk :)

The family that walks together...

The Boda Gang -FINISH LINE! 6 miles Baby!

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

It Has Arrived...Football Season That Is!

Football Season has finally arrived!! One of our favorite times of the year. Now, I will let you know now, that I am a die hard 49'ers fan! ALL the way! Win or lose people, and yes I know they've lost...ALOT! LOL! But, this season...Oh, we're lookin good! 2-0 Baby! I just had to note that before you look on and see that yes, I have posted pictures of not only "Cowboy" stuff, but some "Buc's" too. What can I say? I married a Buc's Fan. I still love him anyhow, lol. It also doesn't help that all the in-laws are Cowboy fans. Being the good wife I am ;) I supported the hubby's Buc's that day in cheering them on to stomp them Cowboys. Annnnnd they lost! LOL! (But did I mention my Niners WON! Oh YA!)

So this season, the family decided to kick it off with a Belated Birthday/Football/BBQ. My husband turned 31 (he's hating it, lol) and my niece who turned 15 this year!!! Lord, help her parents cause the girl looks 20! LOL!
As always, it was nothing but good food, good times and tons of photos!

-This is one proud Daddy with his baby "Bucs' boy-

-Poor kid was confused...Buc's blanket, Niner hat...and what? A cowboy football? One day he'll chose his own team. (cough, 49'ers, cough)-
-"Toots" enjoying some of her Aunt Karie's delicious meatballs-

-I'm not sure how many of these cupcakes he ate, but he's still talking about them!-
-Can you believe I stood in a home which displays such things?!? LOL-
-As always, Talia did the baking for the day. We just call them
"T's Treats" We've got Jason's B-Day Bucs Cakes, her famous Football Krispy Treats and then at the request of "Weenie," her B-Day Bowling Cupcakes! AWESOME!


-They may hang their banner, but if we have to be there, we're bringing some Bucs gear!
Tyson was sportin' it all from bib to blanket!-
-I believe this was the moment my hubby lost all hope of a win. And of course Fernando is celebrating-
-Game over....time for some outside fun and re-fire up that grill!-
And yes, things get so crazy we have to hire our own "Security"...lol, nice David! LOL!
We do let them break occasionally for a game of "Washers."

-Don't be fooled by his size...he can make it in the hole!
And yes...it is a "Cowboys Washer Game" :( What was I doing there!?!? LOL!
-By the end of the day, even Sequoia was tired.-

Saturday, September 12, 2009

Something New...

With the help of their Uncle pushing the issue, lol, the kids decided to try a new sport this season...basketball. I will admit, I have never been a huge basketball fan. Perhaps I just don't care to watch it on T.V. The back and forth across the screen isn't as interesting to me as seeing it live. However, watching your kid play is much different. So we were game. Not to mention an opportunity arose for Crooked Photography to help out and be a part of a great and local Non-Profit Organization. So here are a few photos I caught of them giving it their first shot (no pun intended, lol) at basketball.
If you know "Toots" you would know the shoes are fitting for her. Wouldn't expect less!
Ya, that's my Dooie balling it up right there!


When he received his trophy, he was given the "Mr.Good Lookin' Award" I guess whenever he'd make a shot, miss or not he'd look to his coach and say "Well, it looked good!" LOL!



I LOVED the ceiling in there!
The games are over and the cheering (screaming) is silenced for now. All in all, it was a good season, something fun and new, and I wouldn't mind watching them ball it up on the court again ;)


Tuesday, August 18, 2009

Big Brothers are Great...

I must say, my son is the best big brother ever. Every morning he tries to beat me to Tyson's room to get him first. This 9yr old, (soon to be 10) will change a diaper without even asking for help. He's sure to remind me when it's nap time cause he loves to put him down in his crib. Then he'll parade past his bedroom door at any peep to take him right back out. "He just needs me to squeeze him mom." He stands beside me at at every bath time, towel in hand, ready to help out. I must say, the Lord has blessed me with one awesome and super loving kid! Oh and he'll jump right in at any chance to try and spoon feed him. That's a work in progress as Tyson loves to talk with food in his mouth and blow raspberries. Now he's cutting teeth. Got my first feel of the sharp little tooth tonight when he munched mommy's finger! LOL! So when he wasn't feelin' too hot today, you betcha, big brother was there waiting with a bottle and some cartoons.
THIS is what having kids is all about.
THIS is what makes my day.
Seeing my "Dooie" lovin' on his "Tybo" and making him "feel better."
I love my boys :)

Photobucket
Photobucket

Sunday, August 9, 2009

A weight lifted...

You would think this would have been my first blogging but it took me awhile to get my thoughts and words together. Sometimes circumstances will give you a little push.... and recently I got a SHOVE! There is nothing that can jolt an old memory or experience, then seeing someone else living through it themselves.

Guilt can be an ugly thing. Especially when its not yours to carry. Throughout life I've learned many lessons. Some of the hardest over the very recent years of my life. Ever ask yourself "What did I do wrong?"..."Could I have changed the outcome?"..."Why do I feel this crappy if it wasn't even my fault? Was it my fault?!?" I've asked myself those questions many times over for many different reasons. They all usually have the same relative answer...NO.
Life can be unfair at times. Even so painful you'd wish it wouldn't go on. It's been a long time coming and up until very recently, I've learned to let go of all guilt I was carrying. Guilt I shouldn't have carried in the first place. Ya, you hear people tell you all the time..."There was nothing you could do..." or "You did everything right." Tell you what, they can repeat it till they're blue in the face. Until YOU believe it yourself, nothing will change. And until you change your thoughts, life for the most part is well, crappy. Nothing but negative thoughts and reliving the painful past. There are many reasons we carry guilt. Perhaps we hurt someone, and it's easier to just live with the guilt then to say "I'm sorry." Sometimes the hurt that may have been caused to someone else was truly innocent. Maybe feelings or words spoken from your heart, from your own hurt. We can never control the thoughts, feelings or response of others. Truth is, we often don't like to hear the truth. Especially painful ones. No one ever wants to know or be told they've caused another pain. Another that they love. The reality is, if you didn't love them in the first place, then you wouldn't have been hurt. There would be no feeling and in that, no words ever spoken. So why is it, when we do speak from love, good or bad news, the result is often worse then the feelings? Why is it when we share something with the closest of people it often turns bad and then your left with the weight of guilt? Why is it one would ever feel guilty for the reaction that came from another? I thought when we speak from truth, honesty and love the outcome would often be better. I've learned that often isn't the case. The ones that can cause the most hurt are those you love most. We've all heard that before. Can we really hold anger and hatred towards someone we "love" if all they simply did was share where they are at in that moment, how they are feeling and maybe what they are really needing? Sometimes "I'm sorry" isn't enough. Sometimes "I'm sorry" wasn't even needed in the first place. Sometimes they just need you there, no words, no response, just there. Knowing the people you love are there when you need them most, if often all that is needed.

I'm not one to "open up." I'm not one to show emotion. I often suppress my feelings, bad I know. It's a work in progress. (This blog is helping,lol) I find myself overly trusting and usually giving the benefit of the doubt. Doesn't always work in my favor, lol. When I do speak, I do speak in honesty and when something does come out it is usually quite profound and leaves the person on the opposite end in beehovement. Though not my goal, it happens all too often. And though they may be words of wisdom, a reality check or sometimes words of my own hurt, I think people are caught off guard. It doesn't always go bad. It has strengthened relationships and others dissolved. Why is it we find happiness in those strengthened but then carry guilt for those relationships that may not have made it through? It's a heavy guilt to carry.
Why is it when things don't go in our favor, how we planned or the way we want, we blame God first, those around us and/or then ourselves? It a little over a year ago our baby boy went home to Jesus house. There isn't enough room on this entire blog site to list the questions my husband and I had while all that was going on. There was one though that stuck in my head. Over and over and over. "Was it me?"..."Was there something I could have done wrong?"...and the worst of them all, "Why couldn't my body do what it was supposed to do!?!" I cannot tell you how MANY times I heard time and again from family, friends and the doctors, "It was nothing you did wrong Kellie." Funny is they start prepping you before you even ask. I'm sure anyone who has gone through the loss of a child totally knows what I'm speaking of. Your the mom, the protector, the one who was supposed to perfectly grow this little person in you and take care of them until they arrive. My baby boy Jake arrived 8 weeks early. And for the 2 1/2 months he was here, I asked myself that question ALL the time! I carried the guilt of everything he went through. And when doctors still couldn't answer the simple question of "WHY or WHAT went wrong?!?"...well...it was very easy to blame myself. I can't put into words what that kind of guilt will do to you physically and emotionally. It was rough. VERY rough. I am so thankful for the friends and family I had around me. I am glad that I have the Lord in my life, cause I DO NOT know how anyone could go through a pain like that without Him. It IS what kept my husband and I from completely losing it and each other in our own pain. The domino effect that guilt can carry into your life is not anything I'd want to see someone else live. Yes, I was SO happy to know my baby boy was healed and running around in Heaven. That his pain was GONE! :)

What happened next was my guilt turned to fear. "Could I even have another baby?" "Should I have another one?" "OMG! What if I became pregnant again, and my body wasn't capable of doing what it should again....." Oh the thoughts that will run through your head if you allow them to. Let me tell you, if you ask HE will respond! Unplanned and unexpected I became pregnant 4 months after we said our goodbye to Jake. It was happiness and fear all at once! I can't tell you how much my husband watched me like a hawk! Or my doctors for that matter! Try bi-weekly visits AND starting at 30wks, I had stress tests and visits TWICE a week till our baby was born! That on TOP of my routine visits. Let's just say the hospital staff knew us by name...even some of the cleaning crew okay! LOL! I did my best to not let that guilt and fear steal our joy. And I'm not gonna lie, until we were discharged, I don't think I had ever let it go 100% until then. So my question was answered..."Yes Kellie, you are capable. No Kellie, it was not your fault."

So here is my thought and point I'm trying to get out...

I will never apologize for speaking from my true heart. Even if it may hurt others. Cause I KNOW that I KNOW, I'm speaking in truth, my hurt or pain is legit, and no one can ever question your feelings. They may not like them, but they are legit. I never speak words with intention of hurting others. I never speak words that are not in all honesty. I would never say something with cruel intentions. And I will learn to not carry the guilt for how others chose to respond. I may regret the way things or situations turn out, but I have learned to let go and let God handle it and sort things through. Eventually all things will fall in place as they should and as He's planned. God is not that bad guy. Though it seems so easy to blame Him, be mad at Him and even curse Him for your pain. Funny is, He expects it, and will still love you when the day is over. I think we often forget who it is that wants to steal our joy...you know...the other guy. And if the enemy tries to steal my joy again, I will not allow it. I will continue to thank the Lord for the life He has given me and the good things that continue to come into our lives. I don't know the full plan, but I know He's got a BIG one! Life is short people. There is no time to waste on old stuff, petty stuff or stuff when compared to what is going in your life now vs. "back then" isn't even important anymore. I have ALWAYS said "Words are cheap, actions speak louder!" So what do your actions say? I pray each day that we ALL will learn this lesson. It is not a road I recommend. If by chance you find yourself on it, just remember that GOD is GOOD...ALL the Time! Let Him carry it for you...it's a weight lifted off of me and now I can breath.

All of this steamed from one little person, one life lesson, one short but HUGE moment in our lives. I cannot wait to make it to Heaven to say "THANK YOU LORD FOR ALL YOU BLESSED ME WITH!" I am waiting for the day to tell this one little guy that he taught me the most important lesson I have learned in life as of yet...

...Thank you baby boy for teaching me to have Faith when I was broken, Strength when you were weak, Joy when they were sad, to Live for every moment with no regrets and to Love even when it hurts!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MHFqsKw3HAQ

(Whew....that wiped me out.)

Monday, August 3, 2009

Making New Beach Memories...

Photobucket
When we were growing up as kids, my parents took us to the beach as often as they could! Aw yes, the good old days! My dad teaching us how to dig for sand crabs, my sisters and I diving through waves, and of course burying my little brother in the sand. He loved it! Remember when little girls bathing suits were, well...for little girls. Nothing like walking around with a suit FULL of sand! Gone are the days of sitting in that big sink while mom rinsed ya down and put you in your warm dry clothes. Back then, a day at the beach was about sand in your soda, string cheese, staying in the water till you were numb and throwing a dog on a hanger! Just a bunch of families hanging out on the beach having a good time! You didn't have to be so concerned or worried with what was going on next to you. Back then people were, whats the word....oh, COURTEOUS! Now a days, we pay quarters for warm water to shower, kids wear less and less fabric (amazed at some of the "suits" girls wear these days), people will drop their goods and sit pretty much on top of you and your constantly covering your kids ears from the too casual and said too often f-bombs flying left and right. Sigh... Call me old school, traditional, whatever...I just miss the good old days sometimes. None the less, our family is carrying on our beach tradition! Except now we all have kids of our own :) Nothing like watching "Papa" show our little ones how to dig up a quality sand crab! Or shoving them off on their first boogie board ride. And of course their is nothing better then taking your little one on their very first beach trip and seeing their reaction to those big waves. Ending the day with some good times around the bonfire, jokes, food, music and a game (So glad Jason FINALLY got to "Come to our picnic" LOLOL), is what its all about! We all are grown up now, but there is one thing for sure..when we all are together, we are still "Woodge, Stinky, Tooie and Bones-Boy" The list has just gotten somewhat larger, haha... "Papa, Gramma, Woodge, Fern, Stinky, Full-House, Tooie, Jaybo, Bones-Boy, T, Goose, Bubba, Weenie, Toots, Dooie, Moose, Chubba & Doodie" ...till we add another to our every growing list, here are some pics of our good time :)





Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
Was the Perfect Day.